Blooming on June 27, 2013

Blooming on Thursday for the first time was the most we ever paid for a daylily ($80).   New varieties can go for $100 to $250 for a first year fan or double fan but that has always been to rich for the family blood.  I have been able to get some of those high end first year daylilies through trading with hybridizers, trading services or through helping my daylily club but not through cash.   Primal Scream is now down to around $15 for a double fan several years later but at that time it was my anniversary present from my wife and I love her for it.   So just remember with virtually all daylilies they drop in prices quickly over the years and just keep a book like I do of those $150+ ones you see that you really like and in a few to 5 years you’ll be able to get them for $30 or less normally.

Blooming for the first time today for this season:

Primal Scream – tall flower, geat form and bright eye catching orange

Mystical Rainbow

Paco Bell – REALLY bright colors on this daylily even if there are many red and yellow daylilies out there. We have a dog named Paco that is not my favorite but my wife swears to me she did not buy this daylily because of its name.

Purple Crowned Fairy

Tom Wise – love the visiting ladybug

Blooming today previously seen in the blog:

Border Music

Calico Poly – 8 petals today

Carolina Trilogy

Hill Street Blues

Key Lime Ice

Lavender Rainbow

Mark’s Bouquet

Peasant King

Point of View

Sanford Intermezzo

Still the One

Wonder of It All

Leave a comment